Posted in award lists

The journey has begun 

​The journey has begun 

My first Booker prize read. 

The journey has begun 

My first Booker prize read. 

Autumn 
Ali Smith 

I must admit that this is not my first attempt at reading this book. I attempted to read it when it first came out, but Dnf’d it. However, that was during a really bad reading slump. So, I thought, since it was on the list, I’d give it another go. 

I managed to read it this time.  I found that it dealt with some really topical issues, such as: Brexit and  its aftermath, Jo Coxes murder, immigration, and the hassle of doing anything in this country if you don’t carry five sources of i.d. around with you at all times. The inclusion of these topics made the work feel prescient and timely. But, the shear mass of ideas; together with its non-linear form and shortness,  made it feel very busy and overwhelming. At times, I felt lost, and disengaged, from the story and characters.  Not a bad read, but not a satisfying one either. I can see why it’s on the list and I fear that it will be on the short list. However, I will feel really disappointed if it wins.

Leave a Reply

