Posted in Uncategorized

Catch up, confessions and awards

Well,  It’s been quite some time since my last post.  No excuses.  It was pure idleness.  But, I am back.  I will try to post at least once a week. This is just a catch up.  Firstly, it’s confession time. I have broken one of my new years resolutions.  I said that I would ignore The Women’s
Prize for Fiction
list this year. I swore that I would not use the list as a reading list.  I swore that I would not try and read the reading list before they publish the short list.  But, that’s exactly what I am doing.   So, look out for a slow trickle of book reviews over the next few weeks.  The books are;

The complete longlist for this year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction:

  1. A Trick I Learned From Dead Men, Kitty Aldridge, Jonathan Cape

  2. Alif the UnseenG. Willow Wilson, Corvus Books

  3. Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel, Fourth Estate (read- see review at http://literarystuff.wordpress.com/2012/09/15/bring-up-the-b…a-longish-book/ ‎)

  4. Flight Behavior, Barbara Kingsolver, Faber & Faber (One of my two books given up on)

  5. Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn, Weidenfeld & Nicolson

  6. Honour, Elif Shafak, Viking

  7. How Should a Person Be?, Sheila Heti, Harvill Secker (another book given up on.  Seems like something from the ‘90’s)

  8. Ignorance, Michele Roberts, Bloomsbury Publishing

  9. Lamb, Bonnie Nadzam, Hutchinson

  10. Life After Life, Kate Atkinson, Doubleday

  11. Mateship With Birds, Carrie Tiffany, Picador

  12. May We Be Forgiven, A.M. Homes, Granta Books

  13. NW, Zadie Smith, Hamish Hamilton

  14. The Forrests, Emily Perkins, Bloomsbury Circus

  15. The Innocents, Francesca Segal, Chatto and Windus

  16. The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman, Doubleday

  17. The Marlowe Papers, Ros Barber, Sceptre

  18. The People of Forever Are Not Afraid, Shani Boianjiu, Hogarth

 

  1. The Red Book, Deborah Copaken Kogan, Virago
  2. Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Maria Semple, Weidenfeld and Nicolson

 

In other awards news.  Other awards have been announced;

The James Tiptree awards Honor list;

The Joint Winners are;

 

The Drowning Girl-  Caitlin.  R.  Kiernan

Ancient, Ancient- Kiini Ibura Salaam

 

The Honor list

I have read the two winners. In addition, I am in the process of reading the others. You can expect the reviews soon.  Also, the Aurealis Awards finalists have been announced and you can find them on http://www.aurealisawards.com/media-release_finalists-March-2013.pdf

 

So, to sum up.  I’ve got a lot of reading to do and you can expect more reviews soon.

Leave a Reply

