Posted in reading journal, Susanna Clark

Reading journal for a snowy day or thank you Coodestreet podcast.

I am trying something new. Well new for me anyway. I am going to post something every day. It won’t always be a review (although I have quite a few of those waiting to be edited. So, there will be some coming soon. ). It won’t always be long. It won’t always be edited. But, there will hopefully be something. Most of England is covered with a blanket of snow today. It’s cold and so there’s way I’m going very far from my kettle. Even my study, at the top of the house, seems like an uninviting prospect. But, it’s good reading weather. Which is good since I’m reading my way through the Coodestreet contemporary fantasy list. http://jonathanstrahan.podbean.com/ Contemporary Fantasy Novels (in the order mentioned on the podcast) Mythago Wood, Robert Holdstock The Drowning Girl, Caitlin R. Kiernan Last Call, Tim Powers

Ysabel, Guy Gavriel Kay The Limits of Enchantment, Graham Joyce The Wizard Knight, Gene Wolfe The Golden Compass, Philip Pullman Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, Susanna Clarke Perfect Circle, Sean Stewart Waking the Moon, Elizabeth Hand Wizard of Pigeons, Megan Lindholm The Scar, China Mieville The Prestige, Christopher Priest Who Fears Death, Nnedi Okorafor The Brides of Roll-Rock Island, Margo Lanagan Was, Geoff Ramon

So, far I’ve managed to source most of the books. However, I’m drawing a blank at perfect circle. I’ve already read ‘ who fears death’ ‘the drowning girl’ and ‘the bride’s of Roll rock island’. I’m currently trawling my way through the 1003 page Jonathan strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clark. I’m really enjoying it. It has a pickwickian feel to it. Daily questions; 1) what do you think of the Coodestreet list? 2) what are you reading? 3) why do you think that Jonathan strange and Mr Norrell is classified as lit fix (on a lit fix publisher Bloomsbury) and not a fantasy?

Leave a Reply

